data, awards, description –
The Former Submarine Mine Corps project is an award-winning restoration of a unique element of Sydney’s history on the harbour foreshore.
Historical significance In the late 1870s the Submarine Mining Corps was established to maintain an electrically triggered minefield in Sydney Harbour. The Submarine Mining Depot at Chowder Bay was completed in 1892 and forms the centrepiece of an historic defence complex in a beautiful harbourside setting.
Rescued and restored This significant part of Sydney’s maritime and military history was in danger of serious decay. In 2002, AJ+C, in consultation with the Sydney Harbour Federation Trust, carried out major restoration and adaptation works on the sandstone and timber building.
Sensitive conservation The building’s conservation reintegrates it into its site, enhancing its relationship to the surrounding bush, harbour and beach.
Recognised by a Francis Greenway Award for Restoration, the project enables “the quality, integrity and significance of the building to be revealed and celebrated.” – Jury comments
- ClientSydney Harbour Federation Trust
- CostA$1.5 million
- Heritage ListingNational Estate
- Original UseVaried commercial uses including scuba diving school, training facility and restaurant
- 2003Royal Australian Institute of Architects (RAIA)
NSW Greenway Award for Restoration